Oregon Safe Schools and Community Coalition played host to the Annual Safe School Awards at Q Center on Friday, October 4th, 2013.

For the second year in a row, OSSCC celebrated those people and organizations who are leading the way to reduce bullying, harassment, and violence. Together with our coalition members including GLSEN, Multnomah Youth Commission, Momentum Alliance, Transactive, PFLAG, and PFLAG Black Chapter, we acknowledged outstanding work being done by Districts, Schools, Adult Allies, and Students.


The following awards were acknowledged:

GSA of Distinction:
La Grande High School’s GSA

Youth Leadership:
Eddie Morales

Adult Ally:
Tony Domingue
Jeanine Fukuda with Portland Public Schools
Emi Hanawa with Jefferson High School
Ren Myers with The Living Room Youth Drop In Center in Oregon City.
Jollee Patterson, General Counsel for Portland Public Schools District

School of Distinction:
Newport High School

Youth Organizational Champion:
Multnomah Youth Commission

Organizational Champion:
The LGBT Bar Association of Oregon (OGALLA) Sub-Committee

These awards were given as part of the 2nd Annual Safe Schools Report. Find out more about that report HERE.

Thank you to our food sponsor, New Seasons.